The Nature of Change

Today was dedicated entirely to making an important change to the way in which I go about living – I applied to Success Tracs to become a coach.  In order to make this move, I engaged in a process of Gaining Awareness about coaching in general and Developing Skills related to coaching vis-a-vis building my own introductory level Mastermind.  I went on to Take Action by utilizing all of the applicable skills I had at the time towards my objective.  Finally, I sent it neatly packaged by registered mail, and celebrated by getting a bite to eat with a friend.

In the arsenal of skills that were at my disposal when it came time to Take Action were some new ones, and a lot more old ones.  It is likely that I forgot some of the older ones, while it is definitely true that I did not apply some of the newer ones.  So during the period when I was Gaining Awareness and Developing Skills, inefficiencies resulted in acquiring some useless skills.  And in the time since I originally learned some skills, I lost a few.  The word used to describe the experience of innefficiency is drag.

That I experienced a bit of drag on getting this application completed and sent in, there can be no doubt.  But setting a deadline for myself resulted in an active work day and the completion of the goal.  And some of the skills you lose are really just habits that you’ve wanted to change anyway.  In fact, over the course of 5 to 6 months, it seems to be physically possible to make changes to the neurophysiology of the body that create permanent changes to the ways in which we live our lives.  Over the course of that time, drag will lessen as a result.  And eventually, almost anything that once seemed like a better way to go about living can become so second nature that you don’t even notice that you’ve installed something new!

When the locus of control is external (what if they don’t want me?), change is like a lottery ticket because there are very few winners compared to the number of players.  But when the locus of control is internal (I want this because it aligns with my purpose), change is like water in a stream because it simply flows around the rocks.  To create the change that I want in my life, I will therefor be most likely to succeed if my locus of control is internal.

And while I see this move as being a strong one, I feel fantastic just for having made it.  The fact that this possibility arose in my life says good things about me, and gives me confidence that I will live my purpose regardless the outcome.

Leave a comment